Skip to main content

Dying on Edisto by C. Hope Clark Tour

Dying on Edisto
The Edisto Island Mysteries Book 5
by C. Hope Clark
Genre: Cozy Mystery

One death. Two detectives. And unexpected backup.

A Callie Morgan and Carolina Slade crossover! (A standalone mystery)

When a renowned—and now dead—travel blogger washes ashore on the banks of Indigo Plantation, Police Chief Callie Morgan of Edisto Beach agrees to head the investigation as a favor to the county sheriff, whose reasons are as questionable as the death itself.
When death turns to murder and a watchdog from the county makes her investigation difficult, Callie reluctantly turns to Carolina Slade and Wayne Largo, vacationing agents with the Department of Agriculture. Because poison is growing on this plantation, and someone knows how to use it well.
"Page-turning...[and] edge-of-your-seat action...crisp writing and compelling storytelling. This is one you don't want to miss!" —Carolyn Haines, USA Today bestselling author
"Her beloved protagonist, Callie, continues to delight readers as a strong, savvy, and a wee-bit-snarky police chief.”—Julie Cantrell, NY Times and USA Today bestselling author

Explain the design of your covers.

Any series needs its own personality, and covers can be critical in the success of said series. Being a traditional author, my publisher has as much or more say in my covers than I do, but luckily the cooperative team asks for feedback, suggestions, even my consent as drafts take place.

The Edisto Island Mystery covers feature. . . surprise. . . some aspect of the island. We go for ominous but with one demanding color. Photography, not graphics, with creative license taken to inserting the flavor of suspense. As a former, and currently infrequent, freelancer, I own a quality camera, and while I doubt I could make a living being a photography, my eye is pretty darn decent. Both Echoes of Edisto and Dying on Edisto are my photo credits. The publisher has learned to ask for any Edisto pictures I may have from my frequent visits, and I’m eager to share.

The Carolina Slade Mystery covers capitalize on setting as well. Again, photography in lieu of graphics, but with a hint of artistic adjustment. Lowcountry Bribe features the field and a barn, key pieces of the story. Tidewater Murder takes us to the coast, and an historic lighthouse. Palmetto Poison was somewhat of a challenge, but colors gave it a remarkable, eye-catching visual. Newberry Sin. . . again, my photography.

Being destination mysteries, a nickname coined by my webmistress, setting is extremely important to me. In the creation of my covers, I made two strong requests outside of the setting theme. First, don’t make the cover look feminine, and, secondly, leave off people.

Giving the cover a feminine air tends to shift a mystery from the traditional to the cozy category. There’s too much realism in the stories to be deemed cozy.

And from my own experience, I want to interpret from reading a book how a character appears, not be told by the body on the cover. And from my viewpoint, putting a person on a mystery cover denies the reader the right to interpret what a character looks like. I’d much prefer the reader form a personal opinion as to how noble or normal the hero looks, or how nasty or handsome the villain.

But the ultimate designer for these covers is Debra Dixon, President and CEO of Belle and Bell Bridge Books.

C. HOPE CLARK has a fascination with the mystery genre and is author of the Carolina Slade Mystery Series as well as the Edisto Island Mysteries, both set in her home state of South Carolina. In her previous federal life, she performed administrative investigations and married the agent she met on a bribery investigation. She enjoys nothing more than editing her books on the back porch with him, overlooking the lake, with bourbons in hand. She can be found either on the banks of Lake Murray or Edisto Beach with one or two dachshunds in her lap. Hope is also editor of the award-winning

Follow the tour HERE for exclusive excerpts, guest posts and a giveaway!


Popular posts from this blog

All My Truths & One Lie by Fabiola Francisco Blitz

Book: All My Truths & One LieAuthor: Fabiola Francisco Release Date - 23rd January 2019 #AllMyTruths&OneLieRelease
Goodreads: Buy All My Truths & One Lie
Amazon: iBooks: Nook: Kobo: Blurb A captivating story about love, family secrets, and self-discovery. I finally followed the life I always dreamed of. All of the pieces fell into an easy path, but the illusion of perfection hid the pain I was still carrying. Until I met him. They say when you cross paths with a twin flame, everything changes. Matthias proved that to be true as he stripped me down, removing the illusion and baring every single truth I refused to look at. He was the love that could deconstruct my patterns. If only I could accept that the one lie I’ve believed my entire life is the only truth.

Dead Ringer by Kat Ross Tour

Dead Ringer
Kat Ross
(Gaslamp Gothic #5)
Published by: Acorn Publishing
Publication date: December 13th 2019
Genres: Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Retelling
A poisonous secret.
A terrifying curse.
And a client she’d just as soon see dead in a ditch….

Summer 1889. Harrison Fearing Pell hoped for adventure when she signed on with the Society for Psychical Research as an occult investigator. Slogging through New York’s sewers in pursuit of a “mud man” wasn’t exactly what she had in mind. But the reeking monster terrorizing the dance halls of the Tenderloin leads her to an even more peculiar mystery — and the last man on earth Harry wishes to become entangled with.
James Moran is a prodigy in music, mathematics . . . and crime. Harry’s older sister, the famed detective Myrtle Fearing Pell, has vowed to put him behind bars. But Harry owes Moran a personal debt, so when he demands her aid she can hardly refuse. It turns out that the brilliant black sheep of New York Society is part of a secret cl…

Beneath the Surface by Amy McKinley Blitz

Title: Beneath the Surface Series: A Gray Ghost Novel Author: Amy McKinley Genre: Romantic Suspense Release Date: January 8, 2019
Russian sleeper agent, Hannah Miller has spent nine long years installed within America’s intelligence agencies. When the private plane carrying a secret weapon she and her boss are on is hijacked—her wait to be activated is finally over. Jack Davis, ex-boyfriend and former Navy SEAL, is sent in. His primary mission is to recover the secret weapon, but he refuses to leave Hannah behind—not when he still has feelings for her. When mounting evidence points to Hannah as a traitor, Jack must decide where to place his trust. Aiding her could risk his career, but betraying her risks his heart. When Hannah is framed for murder, Jack convinces her to work with him in a scheme that will reveal the true culprit, unmasking a corruption that has reached some of the highest levels of US government.